North-Eastern Hill University
A Central University established by an Act of Parliament
Shillong 793 022, India

Department of Political Science



1. Course Offered
2. Faculty Members
3. Students
4. Deptt. Directory
5. Announcements
Prof. K. Debbarma, Head
Department of Political Science
North-Eastern Hill University
Shillong 793 022
Phone No. 272 3035/ 272 3036


Established in 1974, the Department of Political Science aims at building an academic community of students, researchers and teachers devoted to an open critical and analytical study of the discipline with an emphasis on the inter-disciplinary approach. It also aims at making courses and research work socially relevant and to develop in the students an awareness of the basic issues and problems in the discipline and to equip them intellectually to fulfil these needs.

With a strength of 12 faculty members, the Department has about 100 students on its rolls at M.A. level. The Department also provides research facilities leading to M.Phil and Ph.D degrees.


The department offers the following courses:
1. M. A
2. M. Phil
3. Ph. D



Thrust Area of Research

Contemporary issues in Indian Politics
Disclaimer | Contact Us
©2007 Bioinformatics Centre, NEHU Shillong-22